

# ANNUAL MEETING OCTOBER 17, 2006, 1:30 p.m. HOLIDAY INN, NEW ULM, MN MINUTES

# Attendance:

# **Members**

Terry Neff, Aitkin Co.

Laine Sletta, Brown Co.

William Patnaude, Beltrami Co.

Bruce Benson, Carlton Co.

Dan Hecht, Clearwater Co. Tim Nelson, Cook Co.

Mike Hanson, Cottonwood Co. Dennis Myers, Crow Wing Co.

Duane Johnson, Dodge Co.

Rob Scanlan, Houston Co.

Darrel Ellefson, Lac Qui Parle Co.

John Biren, Lyon Co.

John Biren, Lyon Co.

Darrel Ellefson, Lac Qui Parle Co. John Biren, Lyon Co.

Jan Kaspari, Marshall Co.
Larry Gasow, McLeod Co.
Daryl Franklin, Mower Co.
Mandy Landkamer, Nicollet Co.
Pam Flitter, Martin Co.
Jane Starz, Morrison Co.
Jean Christoffels, Murray Co.
Wayne Smith, Nobles Co.

Mandy Landkamer, Nicollet Co.
Kevin Ruud, Norman Co.
Brian Green, Redwood Co.
Nancy Riddle, Sherburne Co.
Andrew Dahlgren, Todd Co.
Wayne Smith, Nobles Co.
Kyle Krier, Pipestone Co.
Trent McCorkell, Rice Co.
Dale Oolman, Steele Co.
Floyd Riester, Wabasha Co.

Bruce Johnson, Watonwan Co. Eric Johnson, Winona Co.

Annalee Garletz, AMC Randy Jacobson, Yellow Medicine Co.

John Shepard, SW Regional Development Commission

# **Associate Members:**

Peter Gansen, Aitkin Co. Chris Hansen, Murray Co. Kathy Henderscheidt, Nobles Co. Sue Kretschmer, Nicollet Co.

After a quorum was established, the meeting was called to order by Norm Craig. The agenda was accepted as presented with a motion by William Patnaude and seconded by Tim Nelson.

# Secretary's Report

Mandy Landkamer presented the Secretary's Report to the membership; a motion was made by William Patnaude and seconded by Tim Nelson with the addition of the curriculum committee under New Business and under Committee Reports, it was amended to state no report.

### **Treasurer's Report**

Dan Hecht presented the Treasurer's Report to the membership:

- The activity for the savings and checking accounts were passed out to the membership for review. The membership was also reminded to make out checks to MACPZA for the annual conference.
- A motion was made by Tim Nelson and seconded by Terry Neff to accept the treasurer's report and to keep the annual dues at \$100.00.
- The audit committee of Pam Flitter and Bruce Benson reviewed and found everything in order.

# **District Reports:**

It was decided at the Executive Board meeting that district reports will no longer be a part of the annual meeting.

# **Committee Reports:**

# **Legislative Committee – Annalee Garletz**

- The legislative committee has been communicating via email, planning to meet after election.
- A letter was drafted to the Commissioner of Administration and EQB regarding the Alternative 6120 Shoreland Threshold rules.

### **Curriculum Committee – Annalee Garletz**

- The curriculum committee has not met recently.
- A list of potential topics has been created for training sessions.
- Coordinating with AMC to have several Jay Squires and Scott Anderson road shows early 2007. These sessions would be geared for new Planning Commissioners, and Board of Adjustment members, and Commissioners.

# **By-Laws Committee:**

No Report

### **ISTS Committee:**

No Report

## **Education Coordinator:**

No Report, all items were reviewed during the curriculum report.

### **Old Business**

- Review of Legislative Platform
   The following items were approved to be amended or added:
  - Overall Policy Statement
  - B1 MACPZA supports the comprehensive plan serving as the justification foundation for the county's zoning ordinance.

- B2 MACPZA supports Alternative 6120 Shoreland rules as a voluntary tool an examination and possible revision of the Department of Natural Resource's (DNR) Shoreland Management Program.
- B3 MACPZA supports efforts to clarify the zoning relationship between counties and townships requiring townships who elect to adopt any level of land use regulations, to assume all land use control responsibilities outlined within Minnesota Statue Chapter 394.
- B6 MACPZA supports a review of the thresholds for environmental review and increased technical assistance from the Environmental Quality Board.
- B7 MACPZA supports legislation that would provide for the gradual elimination of nonconformities. Annalee & Terry will work on nonconforming language.
- E3 MACPZA supports the current De minimis exemption.
- The association was reminded that all counties need to participate when it comes to requests for help, letters, resolutions, and involvement. Mark Erickson will contact District D for an individual to sit on the ISTS Tech Committee for the Marshall (MPCA) Region.
- Annalee Garletz is looking for an individual to participate in the WCA round table discussions.

A motion was made by Bill Patnaude and seconded by Kevin Ruud to amend the MACPZA platform with the above language.

### **New Business:**

- The 2007 Conference will take place in District C. Possible locations include the Brainerd area and the Ottertail County area.
- The following individuals were selected by the nominating committee (Tim Nelson, Jane Starz, and Norm Craig) for the positions of Secretary, Treasurer, and Vice President.
  - Treasurer Dan Hecht
     No additional nominations, a motion was made by Daryl Franklin and seconded by Bill Patnaude for a vote, approved.
  - Secretary Mandy Landkamer
     No additional nominations, a motion was made by Kevin Rudd and seconded by Bill Patnaude for a vote, approved
  - Vice President Mark Erickson
     No additional nominations, a motion was made by Kevin Rudd and seconded by Bill Patnaude for a vote, approved.
  - Jane Starz will assume the role of president of MACPZA for 2007-2008.
- A motion was made by Daryl Franklin and seconded by Bill Patnaude to express gratitude to outgoing President Norm Craig for his contributions during his term of office.

A motion was made by Bill Patnaude and seconded by Jane Starz to adjourn the meeting.

Respectfully Submitted,

Mandy Landkamer MACPZA Secretary

