

ANNUAL MEETING OCTOBER 3, 2007, 3:00 P.M. ALEXANDRIA CONFERENCE AND RESORT CENTER, Alexandria, MN **MINUTES**

Attendance: Members

Terry Neff, Aitkin Co. Bill Patnaude, Beltrami Co. Mandy Landkamer, Blue Earth Co. Dan Hecht, Clearwater Co. Mike Hanson, Cottonwood Co. Dave Rush, Douglas Co. Greg Lillemon, Grant Co. Tim Anderson, Isanti Co. Gordy Olson, Jackson Co. Holly Anderson, Kittson Co. Matt Huddleston, Lake Co. Jan Kaspari, Marshall Co. Larry Gasow, McLeod Co. Michele McPherson, Mille Lacs Co. Jane Starz, Morrison Co. Jean Christoffels, Murray Co. Kathy Henderschiedt, Nobles Co. Dan Johanneck, Polk Co. Mark Erickson, Renville Co. Eric Hartman, Rock Co. Angie Berg, Stearns Co. Andrew Dahlgren, Todd Co. Angie Knish, Waseca Co. Annalee Garletz, AMC

Associate Members:

Rebecca Sternquist, Douglas Co. Marc Telecky, McLeod Co. Marc Schneider, Sherburne Co.

Patty Johnson, Becker Co. Bill Mayland, Benton Co. Laine Sletta, Brown Co. Tim Nelson, Cook Co. Dennis Myers, Crow Wing Co. Norm Craig, Fillmore Co. Bob Scanlan, Houston Co. Don Dewey, Itasca Co. Teresa Bearce, Kanabec Co. Jennifer Breberg, Lac Qui Parle Co. Josh Stromlund. Lake of the Woods Co. Pam Flitter, Martin Co. Joe Boe, Meeker Co. Rob Redding, Nicollet Co. Kevin Ruud, Norman Co. Brian Green, Redwood Co. Trent McCorkell, Rice Co. Nancy Riddle, Sherburne Co. Dale Oolman, Steele Co. Floyd Riester, Wabasha Co. Bruce Johnson, Watonwan Co.

Walt Van Den Heuvel, Lake Co. Lynn Waytashek, Sherburne Co.

After a quorum was established, the meeting was called to order by President Jane Starz. The agenda was accepted as presented with a motion by Bill Patnaude and seconded by Angie Knish.

Secretary's Report

The Secretary's Report was presented to the membership; a motion was made by Angie Knish and seconded by Pam Flitter to accept the agenda as printed.

Treasurer's Report

Dan Hecht presented the Treasurer's Report to the membership:

- The activity for the accounts (checking, savings, and cd) were passed out to the membership for review. A motion was made by Norm Craig and seconded by Eric HArtman to accept the treasurer's report.
- Dan commented on three counties, (Mower, Pope, and Pennington) were listed as affiliate memberships. Dan will contact these counties to discuss the matter.
- The audit committee of Angie Knish and Larry Gasow reviewed and found everything in order.
- There was general consensus to maintain the annual dues at the current rate, \$100 for regular membership and \$35 for affiliate membership.

Old Business

• Jane Starz updated the membership on the award Tina Rosenstein received at the District E and F meeting. Jane also created a poster of several pictures of Tina and would like everyone to sign for Tina. The poster will be presented at the Annual Banquet.

New Business:

- Annalee Garletz discussed the route AMC was taking in regard to their platform. Because it is a biennium year, minimal changes will take place. Although changes will take place in the solid waste area and invasive weeds. Action will need to take place at the Annual Meeting to adopt the MACPZA platform with the date change. AMC will accept last minutes changes up to November 15th, 2007. Therefore, a motion was made by Tim Nelson and seconded by Terry Neff with the adoption date of October 3, 2007.
- The 2008 Annual Conference will be held in District F. Dale Oolman and Norm Craig will begin the planning process with District F.
- Districts B, D, and F will need to elect District Representatives for the year 2008.

Education Coordinator:

- Annalee Garletz received approval for approximately \$500.00 through an AMC grant to purchase training materials from the American Planning Association. Annalee will need to prepare a proposal for the AMC Board for final approval.
- MCIT is unsure if they will update the Scott Anderson and Jay Squires video tapes. May need to refer to training materials from Annalee.
- Annalee will be sending out an email to the Cirriuclum Committee for possible training opportunities and feedback in the near future. Planning for the end of April beginning of May for spring conference.
 - Ideas such as:

- Wind Permitting Dept of Commerce
- Procedurals for Meetings Operational Issues
- Importance of By-Laws Adoption
- How to be a Good Chair
- How a Bill becomes a Law
- "Planners Day at the Capital"
- Nonconformities

* Legislative Updates will be sent to the District Representatives to forward onto the membership. Session starts February 12, 2008.

Committee Reports:

Legislative Committee – Annalee Garletz

- There was considerable discussion at the board meeting concerning the topic of the Legislative Committee. According to the By-Laws, the Board shall serve as the Legislative Committee. Currently, there are 9 individuals on the Leg Committee that are not on the Board. Therefore, a motion was made by Bill Patnaude and seconded by Terry Neff to create a sub-committee and appoint the following individuals: Dan Hecht, Tim Nelson, Matt Huddleston, Angie Berg, Jean Christoffels, Marc Telecky, Mandy Landkamer, Norm Craig, and Duane Johnson. This issue will be brought up at the 2008 Annual Meeting to discuss the possible change to the By-Laws. Discussion should take place at the June 2008 Board meeting. The next legislative meeting will take place on November 2, 2007.
- Annalee reviewed the current attorney support agreement with the membership. Last session Scott Anderson, Jay Squires, and Paul Reuvers entered into a contract with AMC to provide support for Annalee during the Legislative Session for a total of \$5,000. MACPZA agreed to pay half the bill because the agreement would benefit the organization. Since last session was a trial period, Annalee would like to tweak the agreement, possible decrease from 3 to 2 attorneys. All three attorneys provided important review, insight, and suggestions related to the proposed bills. Therefore a motion of suport was made by Terry Neff and seconded by Bill Patnaude to continue the agreement.

Committee Reports

Curriculum – Annalee Garletz

- The curriculum committee has not met recently.
- A list of potential topics has been created for training sessions.
- Coordinating with AMC to have several Jay Squires and Scott Anderson road shows early 2007. These sessions would be geared for new Planning Commissioners, and Board of Adjustment members, and Commissioners.
- The 2006 survey is available on the website for review.
- I

By-Laws -

 Members are needed; currently Angie Knish and Darren Wilke are the only members.

Sustainable Development -

• No Report, committee ok.

ISTS/SSTS – Terry Neff

Discussed the change from 2,500 gallons to 5,000 gallons threshold. The ALJ report came back with 2,500 gallons maximum, exceeding the daily flow will require an engineer. Cost to counties will increase for training, designs and permits will increase for homeowners. Designers will be require to take additional training and have an advanced license. Engineers agreed with the increase up to 5,000 gallons too, over 5,000 gallons would need additional review. Standard homes will require a basic license. Systems that have an aerobic tank, a sand filter, etc, will require an advanced license.

District Reports:

District A – Bill Patnaude

No Report

District B – Terry Neff

- Meeting a quarterly basis.
- Discussing shoreland rules, the Cook County fire, and nonconformities.

District C – Nancy Riddle

2007 Conference

District D – Mark Erickson

Windtowers

District E and F – Angie Knish and Dale Oolman

- The districts meet after the board meeting in Owatonna.
- Have had various speakers come in: DNR, Legislators, MnDot.

President Jane Starz declared the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Mandy Landkamer MACPZA Secretary