

ANNUAL MEETING OCTOBER 2, 2008, 1:15 P.M. TREASURE ISLAND RESORT AND CASINO, RED WING, MN **MINUTES**

Attendance:

Members

Terry Neff, Aitkin Co. Patty Swenson, Becker Co. Bill Patnaude, Beltrami Co. Laine Sletta, Brown Co. Bruce Benson, Carlton Co. Steve Just, Carver Co. Dan Hecht, Clearwater Co. Tim Nelson, Cook Co. Mike Hanson, Cottonwood Co. Norm Craig, Fillmore Co. Kristi Gross, Goodhue Co. Bob Scanlan, Houston Co. Tim Anderson, Isanti Co. Don Dewey, Itasca Co. Gordy Olson, Jackson Co. Teresa Bearce, Kanabec Co. Gary Geer, Kandiyohi Co. Holly Anderson, Kittson Co. Jennifer Breberg, Lac Qui Parle Co. Kathy Brockway, Le Sueur Co. John Biren, Lvon Co. Jan Kaspari, Marshall Co. Pam Flitter, Martin Co. Larry Gasow, McLeod Co. Joe Boe, Meeker Co. Michele McPherson, Mille Lacs Co. Angie Knish, Mower Co. Jean Christoffels, Murray Co. Wayne Smith, Nobles Co. Mandy Landkamer, Nicollet Co. Kevin Ruud, Norman Co. Logan Tjossem, Olmsted Co. Kyle Krier, Pipestone Co. Josh Johnston, Polk Co. Mark Erickson, Renville Co. Trent McCorkell, Rice Co. Eric Hartman, Rock Co. Nancy Riddle, Sherburne Co. Dale Oolman, Steele Co. Andrew Dahlgren, Todd Co. Bruce Johnson, Watonwan Co. Eric Johnson, Winona Co. Annalee Garletz, AMC Randy Jacobson, Yellow Medicine Co.

Associate Members:

Pete Gansen, Aitkin Co. Sara Isebrand, Blue Earth Co. Rebecca Sternquist, Douglas Co. Rick Frank, Houston Co. Michelle Mettler, Le Sueur Co. Rob Redding, Nicollet Co. Stephanie LaBrune, Pipestone Co. Lynn Waytashek, Sherburne Co. Angie Berg, Stearns Co.

George Leary, Blue Earth Co. Colleen Eck, Clay Co. Mike Wozniak, Goodhue Co. Melissa Palkki, Itasca Co. Marc Telecky, McLeod Co. Kathy Henderschiedt, Nobles Co. Julie Runkel, Rice Co.

Marc Schneider, Sherburne Co.

After a quorum was established, the meeting was called to order by Vice President Mark Erickson. Mark requested the addition of Approval of Annual Dues be added to New Business. Upon a motion by Terry Neff and seconded by Eric Hartman, the agenda was approved with the addition of the approval of the annual dues.

Secretary's Report

The Secretary's Report was presented to the membership by Mandy Landkamer; a motion was made by Pam Flitter and seconded by Angie Knish to accept the minutes as printed.

Treasurer's Report

Dan Hecht presented the Treasurer's Report to the membership:

- The activities for the accounts (checking and cd) were passed out to the membership for review. Balances for the accounts are current as of 9-25-08.
- The audit committee of Angie Knish and Larry Gasow reviewed the books and found everything in order. A motion was made by Eric Hartman and seconded by Pam Flitter to accept the findings of the Audit Committee.
- Dan updated the membership on the history of the funds and the recent changes with the transfer of the funds from the savings account and then the closing of the account. As a result of discussions with the Board throughout the winter, a Budget Committee was created to take on the task of reviewing the budget. Therefore, the Budget Committee (Dan Hecht, Nancy Riddle, and Bill Patnaude) is recommending increasing the annual dues for regular members from \$100 to \$150 and affiliates from \$35 to \$50. Actual vote took place under New Business.

New Business:

2009 Policy Platform

- o Land Use 10: MACPZA supports counties being allowed the same 60 day time line as allowed by state agencies in Minnesota State Statute 15.99 (2).
- o Land Use 11: MACPZA supports the review of Statutes 394 and 462 in cooperation with cities and townships to determine if a single statute can be arrived at for all municipalities to use.
- Wastewater Treatment 1: Discussion only, presented language maintained.
- Wetland Management and Protection 3: MACPZA supports the de minimis exemptions as they were in 2006.
- o Aggregate Resource 1: MACPZA supports state policies that ensure counties have the authority, through the conditional and interim use permit process, to regulate the siting and operation of aggregate mines.
- o Aggregate Resource 3: MACPZA supports a review of the current threshold (40 acres to a depth of 10 feet) to a volume based threshold for requiring an environmental assessment worksheet for aggregate mines.

A motion was made by Terry Neff and seconded by Bruce Benson to approve the 2009 Policy Platform with the above changes.

- The 2009 Annual Conference will be hosted by District B. The District is looking in the Grand Rapids area.
- By-Laws Amendment: ARTICLE V. GOVERNING BODY AND ASSOCIATION ORGANIZATION
 - Section 9. The Board of Directors shall serve as the Legislative
 Committee. The Board of Directors shall appoint the members of the Legislative Committee.
 The Board of Directors, through its designated representative (President) shall provide the official position of MACPZA to AMC on Legislative issues.

A motion was made by Terry Neff and seconded by Michelle McPherson to approve the By-Laws Amendment to Article 10, Section 9. The amendment was unanimously approved by the membership.

- The vote to increase the membership dues from \$100 to \$150 for regular members and \$35 to \$50 for the affiliate members took place at this time. A motion was made by Angie Knish and seconded by Jean Christoffels to approve the increase of dues for regular members and affiliate members. Unanimous approval by the membership.
- The following offices and candidates were up for election: Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer.

o Vice-President: William Mayland, Benton County

Mandy Landkamer, Nicollet County (elected)

o Secretary: Jean Christoffels, Murray County (elected)

Dave Rush, Douglas County

o Treasurer: Angie Knish, Mower County (elected)

Education Coordinator: Annalee Garletz

- Annalee updated the membership on the proposed Scott and Jay trainings for spring of 2009. The locations are Mankato, Rochester, St Cloud, and Brainerd.
- Another training may be offered in January, possible topic may be wind energy.
 Annalee is looking for additional topics for other counties not interested or affected by wind energy.
- Members interested in the Education or Curriculum committees should contact Annalee.

Committee Reports:

SSTS – Bruce Benson

- The advisory committee met on September 11th and discussed the following issues:
 - Technical Product Panel product registration, new & warranted products, and acceptable installation practices.
 - Model Ordinance- concern raised from the Realtors Association on the point of sale. They feel the model is requiring point of sale inspections. Annalee spoke with Jay Squires and there are plans to rewrite part of the language to alleviate the concerns. Annalee also

- received feedback from the U of M Extension and MPCA stating their opposition to the model ordinance process.
- o Inspection/Abandonment Form- The advisory committee is making a recommendation to MPCA to not require the use of the form.
- Tank Fees The advisory committee is making the recommendation to MPCA the tank manufacture should collect the fee and report to MPCA.

Legislative Committee – Annalee Garletz

Annalee thanked the Legislative Committee for their help this past session and commented anyone that would like to be involved with the committee to contact her.

Curriculum – Annalee Garletz

Annalee will be contacting the committee to discuss future training sessions.

VP Erickson thanked the following outgoing offices: Past President Norm Craig, Treasurer Dan Hecht, and Secretary Mandy Landkamer.

VP Erickson declared the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted,

Mandy Landkamer MACPZA Secretary